Between the Panels

Author’s Page
Goodreads

In the interest of full disclosure, I feel I should state that I received a copy of this book from my friend who knows the author. Neither asked for a review, but I offered anyway.

Between the Panels is a contemporary romance the takes place over some months between Emma, and Scott. Scott happens to work at the local comic store, and the majority of their interactions happen there, and seem to involve Scott trying to get Emma to buy certain titles/trades.

Other than being short, Emma is how I would love to come off to people, especially guys I’m interested in. She is sassy, sarcastic, and comes off as confidant-even when she is feeling unsure or uncertain. Sadly, that is not me.

Scott seems like a honest to goodness nice guy. He seems content to let Emma control the relationship, but he doesn’t hold back with his witty/snarky comments either. Where is a single guy like Scott for me?

Sadly, this about sums up the book. Throw in nasty commentary about working retail (numerous times), some not-quite conflict (more of a disagreement/disgruntlement) with a roommate and you have the book. It is basically their interactions over time that turn into a relationship.

There is not real conflict they have to overcome, no real misunderstanding (if you squint, one with the roommate, but there wasn’t any real meat to it), nothing. Which (while I have it with the negatives), isn’t that bad of a thing. I have a stack of books I read when I’m feeling down/off/blah. They are the books I don’t have to think to hard about that give me a good feeling. Between the Panels has been added to that pile.

To sum it up: Between the Panels is a book about a snarky girl & the guy who give as good as he gets. Fluff. Not for everyone, but I liked it.

3.75 stars.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

